Ohio Farm Bureau Honors Area Students with Scholarships

Five area students are among this year's recipients of Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation scholarships. 

Highland County's Meredith Oglesby is a recipient of the Cindy Hollingshead, Jack Fisher, Women's Leadership in Agriculture, and Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation scholarships. 

Katie Frost of Fayette County has been awarded Cindy Hollingshead, Darwin Bryan, and Women's Leadership in Agriculture scholarships.

Fayette County's Todd Peterson is a winner of the Cindy Hollingshead, Darwin Bryan, Jack Fisher, and Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation scholarships. 

Garrett Stanfield of Adams County is a recipient of the Jack Fisher and Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation scholarships. 

Clare Sollars of Fayette County is a recipient of the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation scholarship. 

The Cindy Hollingshead Scholarship honors Cynthia Anne Hollingshead for her 39 years of service as Ohio Farm Bureau’s executive secretary, as well as a lifetime of volunteer commitment to local government and community service activities. Financial assistance goes to students who are pursuing careers focused on agriculture, community service and association leadership.

The Darwin Bryan Scholarship was established in 1985 in honor of Darwin R. Bryan whose enthusiastic leadership during his 37 years of service to Ohio Farm Bureau has been an inspiration to rural youth throughout Ohio. The fund assists students who have been active in Farm Bureau’s youth program and/or whose parents are Farm Bureau members.

The Jack Fisher Scholarship is named after John C. “Jack” Fisher, Ohio Farm Bureau’s executive vice president for 20 years. His vision for this scholarship is to enable people to acquire the necessary tools for a more fulfilling life.

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar Award recognizes students for academic effort, community service and career interests that use agriculture to enhance the partnership between producers and consumers in rural, suburban and/or urban settings.

The Women’s Leadership in Agriculture Scholarship is for students who have chosen a career path that benefits agricultural or community development such as food production, scientific research, education/outreach or leadership development. The program was established by an endowment from the Charlotte R. Schmidlapp Fund, Fifth Third Bank, Trustee.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content